sounds like stilwerk vol. 4 | released on 24th of september 2010

sounds like stilwerk Cover Vol. 4A horn in a harbour signals‚ cast off’ for Sinan Mercenk’s Soulful Remix of Blank & Jones‘s Relax [Your Mind]. With jazzy Rhodes and Afro percussion the compilation sounds like stilwerk Vol. 4 embarks on an accoustic cruise to the shores of chilled and funked-up Deep House vibes. Diversity is the compass for the compiler’s route. The journey takes you from jamaican dub influences of Levthand’s Cadillac Track to the lascivious funk regions of Miguel Mig’s Get Down without interference. The common denominator of soulful vocals yields a seamless mix of Robert De Carlos Magic Star with Random Soul & Seminal Groove, blending Salsoul disco moods with a clubby edge. Sinan Mercenk himself drops his producer skills by showcasing Pat Appleton’s (De-Phazz) bewichting voice in front of a contemporary Deep-House backdrop. But not only vocal tracks are among the highlights of this smooth and groovy affair: By aid of samba drumming and airy synthlayers, Summer Thrills evokes the euphoric feeling of a never-ending day on the beach of Rio. While listening to Raw Artistic Soul feat. Mitra Junco Wamburg, nu-jazz lovers should actually fall in love with the soulful offering What About Love. With Change Your Ways, Sinan Mercenk’s changes direction indeed. He combines a Spanish solo guitar with an electronic bassline and thereby comprises an unusal mix of contemporary sounds with a traditional flavour. This is the turn towards dancefloor regions. Reis è Pirates kicks off with offbeats and hornlike keystabs that makes you wanna shake a leg. There is no rest, for Kwality Control feat. Alana Bridgewater excersice a track that hails back to the days of New York’s Paradise Garage. Don’t Stop is a fingerlickin’ gourmet track for Nuyorican Soul and Masters At Work aficionados. At the end of this journey, a fine selection goes back to the harbour in style. The clubby Isla by Doomworks reduces itself to the bare bone of Rhodes – chords that makes you wanna get on that boat again and again.

Tracklisting – compiled & mixed by Sinan Mercenk
01. Blank & Jones – Relax [Your Mind] (Sinan Mercenk’s Soulful Remix)
02. Ralf GUM feat. Monique Bingham – Kissing Strangers (Ralf GUM & Crisp Original Club Mix)
03. Levthand – Cadillac Track (Sinan Mercenk’s Club Edit)
04. Miguel Migs Feat. LT – Get Down
05. Roberto De Carlo Feat. Joshua – Magic Star
06. Random Soul & Seminal Grooves – Searchin
07. Sinan Mercenk Feat. Pat Appleton – Curiosity
08. CRProject – Summer Thrill
09. Can 7 – Flying Beaver
10. Raw Artistic Soul – What About Love Feat. Mitra Junco Wamburg
11. Sinan Mercenk – Change Your Way
12. 12 Fingers – Reis E Pirates (Dub Selecao)
13. Lewis Ferrier Feat. Mavis Acquah – Love Is On The Way
14. Kwality Kontrol Feat. Alana Bridgewater – Don’t Stop
15. Doomwork – Isla

sounds like stilwerk vol. 4 – compiled and mixed by Sinan Mercenk
Releasedate: 24. September 2010
Format: CD und Online
Label: ideedeluxe records | LC: 23315


For more informations or interview requests, please contact:

Compilation Promotion 2010
Press, radio and online by idee deluxe